Application for the UN Women Gender Journalism Awards Competition 2021 is ongoing!

UN Women has partnered with the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA), the African Women Leaders’ Network (Tanzania and Malawi Chapters); the Tanzania Media Women Association (TAMWA); The Association of Women in Media (Malawi); and the MISA Chapters in Tanzania and Malawi, to sell and apprehend excellence inside the media reporting of the paintings by Feminist Movements in East and Southern African countries.

To follow efficiently, kindly examine via this piece to research the overall information about this software- the eligibility criteria, necessities, utility closing date, and greater. The desk beneath will give you an overview of what you ought to anticipate.

About UN Women Gender Journalism Awards

The initiative brings collectively various actors, together with the media, feminist moves and leadership, policymakers, improvement companions and donors for gender equality, younger gender activists, male champions, the civil society and other influencers of gender equality and ladies’s empowerment – to pay much nearer attention to progress, excellent practices, possibilities, strengths, and gaps in efforts in the direction of figuring out the rights of women in the area.

The Awards had been stimulated by using a UN Women Global Campaign: “Generation Equality: Realizing the Rights of Women for an Equal Future” released in 2019. The marketing campaign is bringing the following generations of girls’s rights activists with the gender equality advocates and visionaries who have been instrumental in creating the BPfA in 1995, for galvanized moves towards Gender Equality.

Through this campaign, six Action Coalitions have been established to drive expanded dedication in addressing gender gaps in the following regions: Feminist Movements and Leadership; Gender-based violence; Economic Justice and Rights; Feminist Action for Climate Justice; Technology and Innovation for Gender Equality; and Bodily autonomy and sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR). 

Based on human rights principles, and through a records-pushed system of consultation with global feminist companies, grassroots activist corporations, governments and other companions, the coalitions seek to catalyze collective movement; spark global and neighborhood conversations amongst generations; drive accelerated public and private funding; and supply concrete, sport-changing results for women and girls.

The Categories

Journalists are expected to border their testimonies in conjunction with the following five categories:

  • The Women’s Rights Activism and Leadership
  • Protection of Civic Space for Feminist Action and Movement Building
  • Intergenerational Partnerships for Consensus Building and Succession 
  • Feminist Movements and Financing for a Gender Equal Future
  • Technology and Innovation for Gender Equality

A Panel of Judges can be seeking out:

  • Stories that show information of the problem vicinity, expertise the scope of the category
  • A gender-lens technique to reporting (gender-responsive)
  • Great Journalism capacity, creativity, innovation and integrity
  • Writes with clarity, simplicity for ease of verbal exchange, and demonstrates analytical talents, intensity, and an impressive funding in research
  • Background understanding of the Generation Equality and ongoing occasions regionally, domestically and globally
  • Understanding of how the Feminist Movements and Leadership Action Coalition connects with the alternative 5 Action Coalitions
  • Demonstrates Tenacity, Courage and capacity to expand follow-up tales for extra insight on the subject region.

Rules of Entry

  1. The opposition is open to all expert reporters and freelance reporters, who are as a minimum 18 years of age.
  2. Journalists ought to be working in East and Southern Africa for media corporations that are based inside the area (East and Southern Africa) that print publications and digital information for dissemination in the vicinity because the number one audience.
  3. Journalists aren’t required to pay any charge to enter the competition.
  4. Entries need to had been posted between 20 May and 15 October, 2021,that’s the deadline for access.
  5. Late and lost entries, illegible or fraudulent entries or acts or another entries or acts which carry or might be possibly to convey the recognition of the organizers into disrepute shall render the entrant ineligible to take part within the opposition and might be disqualified.
  6. Journalists should input ONLY one high-quality tale in each of the five classes . Follow-up tales directly related to the preliminary story might be counted as a unmarried story.

UN Women Gender Journalism Awards- Prizes

There are 15 prizes up for grabs. A general of 3 prizes could be provided in each category. Winning entries can be introduced at a rite in November 2021.

How to apply for UN Women Gender Journalism Awards

Fill in the form and proportion links for your entries/ tales here

Click at the BUTTON beneath to apply.

Alternatively, download the Entry Form and ship to: [email protected]

UN Women Gender Journalism Awards- Application Deadline

The closing date for this utility entry is 15 October 2021

For More Information: Visit the Official Webpage

We Also Recommend

We wish this writing furnished your scholarship necessities. Please proportion along with your buddies and leave your query or response in the comment field. We will attend to you straight away.