The new African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards for Scientific Excellence (AUKNASE): Continental & Regional Awards are to be had for African Scientists for the yr 2021.

The goal is to offer out science awards to pinnacle African scientists for their achievements and treasured discoveries and findings in technology, technology, and innovation.

The Commission of the African Union is devoted to assisting the use and improvement of science in Africa and has, seeing that 2008 been running the African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards for Scientific Excellence (AUKNASE).

Just take a while and undergo this text, the World Scholarship Forum has arranged every detail you want to be a participant inside the African Union Scientific Excellence Awards.

About African Union Scientific Excellence Awards

These awards are in reminiscence of the Great Pan-Africanist and First President of the Republic of Ghana, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, a firm believer in African liberation and team spirit! A man who pursued a revolutionary pan-African policy, with a sturdy imaginative and prescient extending past country wide barriers, for the creation of a brand new Africa, “a federal union of African states”. He is most of the key founding fathers of the then Organization of African Unity in 1963, an important pan-Africanist corporation, which later emerge as the African Union in 2002.

What You Need To Know About African Union Scientific Excellence Awards

World Scholarship Forum famous searched scholarships you could utilize in 2021

Level/ Field of Study

The application is carried out on the national level for young researchers, the nearby degree for women scientists and continental stage open to all scientists.

Under this program, prizes are awarded to pinnacle African scientists in every of the subsequent two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science and innovation; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation on the national, regional and continental stages.

Host Nationality

This Scholarship is to be taken in Africa.

If you are an worldwide pupil and also you desire to look at in the UK, that is for you. Complete Guide to Getting A UK Tier four Student Visa For International Students.

Eligible Nationality

The application is open to Only nationals of the African Union (AU), the Member States who are eligible to take part in these Awards.

African Union geographical nearby distribution of Member States:

CENTRAL AFRICA: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Sao Tome & Principe

EASTERN AFRICA: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda

NORTHERN AFRICA: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Tunisia, and The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo

SOUTHERN AFRICA: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

Read also if you want to observe out of doors your house united states Simple and Detailed Answers about Applying and Winning a Scholarship.

Scholarship Worth

The African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards for Scientific Excellence Programme (AUKNASE) will be prepared at 3 degrees:

  1. Continental Level where awards of USD a hundred,000 are given to African pioneer scientists
  2. Regional Level wherein two African girls scientists per every of the five geographical regions of Africa are given USD 20,000 every, and
  3. National Level devoted to young African researchers, where two prizes are given in line with united states of america and the price of the prizes is decided by means of the African Union Commission

African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards for Scientific Excellence, nominees will be African scientists who have made first rate achievements, demonstrated by using the number of publications, quantity of educated research graduate college students, the applicability of the medical work to Africa’s demanding situations, and its patentability. The award is supposed to apprehend folks who demonstrate excellence in studies of relevance to the developmental desires of the continent.

Only nationals of the African Union (AU) the Member States are eligible to participate in these Awards;

Nominees shall be Africans residing in any of the AU Member States and can be nominated simplest for achievements based on work performed in an African united states.


For Women Scientists, applicants should have nominators with a Ph.D. Diploma, if it’s miles an Academic in a university should as a minimum have the rank of Associate Professor. There is not any age restriction for this award. The nominee have to meet at least 3 of the following:

  • Must have posted at the least 5 articles in journals (with an effect component greater than 1.0)
  • Must appear as a senior/corresponding writer in as a minimum 3 of the 5 articles
  • Must as a minimum have a minimum H-index of 5
  • Must have at least one international or two countrywide patents registered
  • Must have supervised or co-supervised at least 5 Ph.D. College students 4.4.6 Must have gained an global furnish as a principal investigator
  • Must have written a review article in her area of specialization


It is open to all African pioneer scientists, applicants have to have nominees with a Ph.D. Degree if the nominee is an Academic in a university need to as a minimum have a rank of Associate Professor. There is no age restrict for this award. The nominee ought to meet at the least four of the following:

  • Must have published in journals (as a minimum 20 articles with the impact thing extra than 1.Zero)
  • Must seem as a senior/corresponding writer in at the least 15 of the 25 articles
  • Must have a minimal H-index of 25
  • Must have as a minimum international or 4 country wide patents registered
  • Must have supervised or co-supervised as a minimum 10 Ph.D. Students
  • Must have won an international furnish as a main investigator
  • Must have written a review article in his/her area of specialization

English Language Requirements: 

Applicants whose first language is not English are normally required to offer evidence of proficiency in English on the better degree required by way of the University.

How to Apply for The Kwame Nkrumah Awards

Online Nominations (on the online device …..) can be invited from any organization inside the continent, from universities, studies institutions, professional our bodies, teachers, business establishments, and so forth.

Nominations can be obtained from:

  1. Individuals who can be senior people of the equal or higher rank than the nominee;
  2. Heads of establishments who may additionally have their own formalized system for the nomination, chairpersons of committees who evaluate the achievements of scientists of their institutions;
  3. The nominator is required to show the importance and effect of the research of the applicant. The attention could be at the satisfactory of the work and not necessarily the number of publications. The nominator must offer a story presentation (as much as five pages) of the importance, relevance, nice, and effect of the paintings. A complete CV, as well as five-10 copies of first-class guides, are to be submitted together with the Nomination Form.
  4. All correctly finished nominations at the will be robotically stated.

Application Deadline

It isn’t always ongoing, but when it starts offevolved we are able to replace you

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the African Union Kwame Nkrumah Awards for Scientific Excellence (AUKNASE) Continental Award



World Scholarship Forum